Why save electricity?

Current electricity situation

As a modern society, electricity is considered essential for the everyday aspects of our life. We use electricity for almost everything we do on daily basis. Abu Dhabi is a modern city where safe and continuous supply of electricity is accessible to all.
why save electricity?-inner-content

Although Abu Dhabi is a regional leader in developing renewable energy sources, electricity is generated in Abu Dhabi through gas-fired power plants. Many of those power plants are of a combined cycle type (Gas Turbines and Steam Turbines in combined-cycle generation arrangement).

current electricity situation overview 1Electricity and Water production is often combined in those power plants through connected desalination plants.

The produced electricity is transmitted through a modern high voltage transmission network (Over-head transmission Lines, Under-ground cables, and transmission substations) which in turn connect to a medium voltage distribution network which supply distribution substations that supply electricity to every house in Abu Dhabi.

Some people know that, many don’t, and most don’t realize the energy, effort and process required for that seemingly endless and reliable supply of electricity that powers our daily life. Powerwise wants the residents of Abu Dhabi to value and appreciate electricity and be mindful about consuming this valuable resource; we believe that understanding is the first step.

Our goal is to make people realise the scale, effort, resources, to produce and supply such continuous and reliable electricity. Abu Dhabi has a desert climate where Air Conditioning (AC) is necessary to maintain a modern society. Summer temperatures can reach as high as 46-50 Degrees. Humidity is also high during the summer and most of the year. Cooling and Air Conditioning is responsible for 70% of the peak electricity load in the summer.

Currently, the majority of Abu Dhabi’s electricity is generated from natural gas. In order to reduce its reliance on natural gas, Abu Dhabi is also investing in renewable energy sources to ensure safe and carbon-free future supplies of electricity utilising these new technologies. The Abu Dhabi government’s aim is to produce 7% of the emirate’s electricity needs through renewable sources by the year 2020. This will account for approximately 1.5GW of electricity, generated using photo-voltaic, wind turbines, and Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) sources.

Nuclear power plants are also being built to support the growing demand on electricity. Starting in 2017, a total of four reactors will be commissioned each year; together the reactors will supply the Abu Dhabi community with a total of 5.6GW of electricity by 2020.

energymix pw2

The demand for electricity has been growing in the emirate of Abu Dhabi to support the economic and population growth. In fact, the peak demand has almost doubled over the last ten years and it places tremendous pressure on the electricity grid. Maintaining secure and efficient supply during peak periods is becoming increasingly challenging. However, Abu Dhabi rises to the challenge and continues to provide a reliable electricity supply. 

Electricity Demand Growth in Abu Dhabi

لم علينا أن نوفر الكهرباء؟

الوضع الراهن للكهرباء

تعتبر الكهرباء في مجتمعنا الحديث أمرا ضروريا لكل مناحي حياتنا، وتستخدم الكهرباء تقريبا في كل ما نقوم به يوميا. كما أن أبوظبي هي مدينة عصرية تتوفر فيها إمدادات الطاقة الآمنة باستمرار لجميع السكان.
لم علينا أن نوفر الكهرباء؟-inner-content

تعد أبوظبي رائدة على المستوى الإقليمي في تطوير مشاريع مصادر الطاقة المتجددة، إلا أنه يتم توليد معظم الكهرباء في محطات تعمل بالغاز الطبيعي. كما أن العديد من تلك المحطات تعمل بتقنية الدورة المركبة (أي أنها تضم توربينات غازية وأخرى بخارية مرتبطة بدورة مركّبة لتوليد الكهرباء).

current electricity situation overview 1 يغلب أن يجتمع إنتاج الكهرباء والماء في محطات الطاقة هذه من خلال محطات تحلية متصلة بها.

كما يتم نقل الكهرباء المولّدة عبر شبكة حديثة لنقل الجهد العالي (والتي تضم خطوط نقل علوية وكابلات تحت الأرض ومحطات نقل فرعية) والتي تتصل بدورها بشبكة توزيع الجهد المتوسط التي تغذّي محطات التوزيع التي تزود الكهرباء إلى كل بيت في الإمارة.

قد يعلم البعض ذلك وقد يجهله الكثيرون، لكن معظم الناس قد لا يعون مدى الجهود والإجراءات التي يحتاجها إنتاج هذه الإمدادات المستمرة من الكهرباء ذات الاعتمادية العالية التي تلبي احتياجات حياتنا اليومية. لذا، نسعى في مكتب "وفّر طاقة" لجعل سكان أبوظبي يَعون ويقدّرون قيمة الكهرباء وأن يتوخوا الحرص في استهلاكهم لهذا المورد الثمين، كما نؤمن أن هذا الفهم وهذا التقدير يشكلان الخطوة الأولى نحو مستقبل مستدام لنا ولأجيالنا القادمة.

هدفنا هو جعل السكان يدركون الكم والجهد والموارد التي يحتاجها إنتاج وتزويد هذا الكم من الكهرباء بشكل دائم وبمستوى عال من الاعتمادية. كما أن طقس أبوظبي الصحراوي يجعل استخدام تكييف الهواء ضروريا لحاجات المجتمع الحديث، إذ تصل درجة الحرارة في فصل الصيف إلى 46 بل و50 درجة مئوية في بعض الأحيان، كما يرتفع معدل الرطوبة في الصيف ومعظم فصول السنة. لذا، فأن استهلاك الكهرباء لأغراض التبريد والتكييف وحدهما مسؤول عن ما يعادل 70% من الأحمال الكهربائية في أوقات الذروة خلال فصل الصيف.

يتم حاليا إنتاج معظم كهرباء أبوظبي باستخدام الغاز الطبيعي. ومن أجل الحد من اعتمادها على الغاز الطبيعي، تقوم أبوظبي أيضا بالاستثمار في مصادر الطاقة المتجددة لضمان الإمدادات الكهربائية المستقبلية الآمنة والخالية من الكربون باستخدام هذه التقنيات الجديدة. كما تهدف أبوظبي إلى إنتاج 7٪ من احتياجاتها من الكهرباء، أي حوالي 1.5 جيجا وات من الكهرباء، من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة بحلول عام 2020، والتي سيتم توليدها باستخدام مصادر الشمسية الكهروضوئية (Photovoltaic)، وتوربينات إنتاج الكهرباء من طاقة الرياح، ومصادر الطاقة الشمسية المركزة (Concentrated Solar Power).

كما يجري أيضا بناء محطات لإنتاج الكهرباء تعمل بالطاقة النووية لدعم الطلب المتزايد على الكهرباء. حيث سيتم تدشين أربع مفاعلات لإنتاج الطاقة الكهربائية ابتداءً من عام 2017 وستقوم تلك المفاعلات مجتمعة بتزويد أبوظبي بما يعادل 5.6 جيجا وات من الكهرباء بحلول عام 2020.

energymix pw AR

يتزايد الطلب على الكهرباء في إمارة أبوظبي لدعم النمو الاقتصادي والسكاني. وقد تضاعف الطلب في أوقات الذروة خلال السنوات العشر الماضية، مما يضع ضغوطا هائلة على شبكة الكهرباء. كما أن هذا من شأنه زيادة التحديات التي تواجه القطاع للمحافظة على إمدادات آمنة وفعّالة خلال فترات الذروة، إلا أن أبوظبي ترتقي دائما إلى مستوى التحدي وتستمر في توفير إمدادات كهربائية ذات مستوى عال من الاعتمادية.

Electricity Demand Growth in Abu Dhabi AR